Welcome to the Maribyrnong Library Book Club

Love to read? Love sharing your ideas about books and writing? Then you've come to the right place.

This blog is an extension of our book groups which we welcome you to attend on the first Tuesday of each month.

Contact Maureen on 9688 0290 for more information.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

The Axis Trilogy - Sara Douglass

Sara Douglass is an award winning Australian author, and unfortunately passed away on the 27th of September 2011. A sad day for Australian fantasy fiction and a personal loss, she was (is) perhaps the greatest inspiration to my own writing.

It seemed only fitting that in tribute I take a look at what is her most famous work of fiction, ‘The Axis Trilogy’. The trilogy is comprised of ‘Battleaxe’, ‘Enchanter’ and ‘Starman’ and follows to its conclusion the ‘Prophecy of the Destroyer’.

The story focuses on Axis, Battleaxe of the Axe Wielders and son of the fearful Seneschal who have taken over the land of Tencendor. As part of the prophecy, Axis must discover his true origins and unite the divided lands to defeat the great evil threatening to consume the world in cold and darkness.

It is a story of love, magic, family and betrayal, and does become quite dark (and graphic) in places but is a work of art that is followed by another trilogy called ‘The Wayfarer Redemption’. The six books that make up this complete series are quite possibly my absolute favourite books of all time.

If you are a fan of fantasy fiction, and great writing, then I highly recommend you take a look at the novels of Sara Douglass. She will be missed.

Emma J. James

No comments:

Post a Comment